dishery.diaryland.com


New values
(2004-02-03 - 4:53 p.m.)


You know what, fuck all this. Fuck me and my constant keening over not being able to find a job or to interview for one that pays better than crap, and also fuck the self-flagellation on account of how everyone else I know happens to be rolling in it and not necessarily inclined to polite discretion on that count. Big deal: the job market sucks and so do their manners and if I do start feeling inadequate to hang around with them I�ll just stay in or go running or to the movies or something. Especially fuck the BB, who signed then nuked the requisition for the job for which Pam was cruising me, and fuck the broad in the office next to hers who got a friend of hers hired without an interview at the other position S. and S. said should be mine. Fuck the whole lot of it � let�s make the diary fun again, shall we? I am going to try banning the J like I have banned the R and get back to writing about anything but; I barely remember, anymore, what anything-but is, and how ashamed of that should I be? Very. I haven�t even entered into record the order in which I�d do the Best Actor nominees and that, my friends, is sad. Anyway, the as-of-today plan going forward is that unless I have a non-wrist-slitter job with heath insurance by the end of June, Steve and I are going to get out of here. Leading contenders include Germany and Miami. Isn�t that nice? Yes, and if that scenario comes to pass, you won�t be reading about it here for a while, because I�m going to try not to write in that vein anymore. Ditto the job thing, although I�ll say this, I�m pretty much done with optimism and I am aware of the connection between going running a lot and being able to live in a city where one frequently wears a swimsuit or skimpy clothes. Fuck Seattle too, if necessary.

Note: I�m not making any promises. I�m just going to try. I also hate how my entries to me seem to be those of a big whiny loser; there�s a sense in which, deciding to write one, I feel obliged to maintain the narrative thread, which I inevitably realize afresh is awful and pathetic and anxiety-inducing and as I follow it often makes me more miserable than I did when I began. That is not the object of the game.

Or maybe I�ll apply to law school, if on the practice tests I can consistently hit 170 thus am a likely candidate to get in even with my stale recommendations. (172? 174? Benchmark TBD.) Whatever. The point is, I�m going to try to back off from using this page for my primal scream therapy and my endless breathless recitation of each new hapless self-rescue plot. And when I can�t do that, I will avoid the whole diary enterprise. And go running.

Bill Murray, Sean Penn, Johnny Depp, Jude Law, Ben Kingsley, though I will have you know those last two, effete Mr. Blond vs. Sexy Beast, was a tough call and I might flip the order if you asked me tomorrow. I saw "Morvern Callar" this past weekend and now I love Samantha Morton for sure � can you believe she�s only 26? Shiznit. As for brainy Josh Marshall, I want to like him, I do, but every time I read more than three or so paragraphs of him my attention fades in and out, impatiently seeking elsewhere for sharper stimuli, and I�m reminded of my college boyfriend�s housemate�s pronouncement upon the scholarship of a brainy medievalist we all knew: His writing smells like turds. Sorry, Josh. The Shins show might have been enough to turn me off the Showbox for good, jury still out. Jury way the fuck in: the new John Vanderslice is, like, impossibly good, I can�t get over it, I can�t get enough. My classes are dumb and dumber, though here�s what�s exciting, I seem to be perceived by my classmates as one of the cool kids � people whose names I don�t know do know mine, and they make a point of using it to say hi and to try to talk to me before and after class, they laugh at my jokes when I�m not even trying to be funny. I am well regarded, and how hilarious is that? During the break of the Tuesday class I go get coffee, because you know it�s boring as all hell, and people want to come with me and chat along the way. I am not accustomed to the equation going in that direction. I got complimented today on my "sense of color" by the guy who a few weeks ago derided my work ethic on account of the conference-room water pitcher not being filled up before his meeting (despite today�s kiss-up I feel entitled still to hate him for that), and then a woman in line at the bank � where I believe I prevented the rent check from bouncing, hooray � said my coat was shaaarp. Still haven�t seen "Finding Nemo." I�m watching "The L Word" and am curious what lesbians apparently have against shampoo. Over the weekend I made banana bread, a mighty bolus of roasted cauliflower, an Indonesian rice salad I adapted from Moosewood, and split-pea soup. Reading much Lowell � did I mention, I finally broke down and bought it? Steve�s going skiing with his niece on Saturday and then next Wednesday night he and I leave for New York. I forgot to do this today, but in a perfect world I call up my optometrist about the glasses that were sucked into the vortex of my hotel room the last time I was there and I order the exact same pair again and they are ready for me to take them with me.

See? Like that, only less desperate and not so much as if I�ve got something to prove. Because I don�t. Remind me of that next time our paths cross, would you? And don�t take it personally if that doesn�t happen soon. Like I said, I think I�ll be doing some staying in.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.