dishery.diaryland.com


Kill me again
(2004-01-30 - 3:36 p.m.)


Three years ago when I was getting offered [Title] jobs, I showed them 4 to 5 years of experience with x, y, and z � oh great, here�s Creepo Peepo on AIM again � and, say, 2 to 3 with a, b, and c. For this employers were willing to pay me a certain amount of money. Today, it�s the same title and they want 7 to 8 years and 5 to 6 respectively, fair enough, and they are also offering 30 or even 40% less. That is not the way inflation works, you know? That is not an agreeable career path to start going down. Last night I saw a fantastic documentary about power privatization in the former Georgian Republic but today I am a sad little monkey, I am feeling so hopeless. Here�s what I�m about to decide: unless I have a job I don�t hate and where the paycheck is not beneath my dignity by the time I�m living somewhere else where I have a place to sit and work, I will make a pledge to sit at that place and spend a no-diary no-nothing year (= 12 months) work work working (= at least 15 hours a week) doing nothing but learning to � kill me now � write code at such a level that I could think about applying to baby-level programmer-writer jobs. And take some classes in that direction too: blecch. If it looks like this is going to happen around, say, the beginning of June, then you should say goodbye to me pre-emptively, because the closer I get to the option that has always symbolically represented the possibility that everything I�m good at and everything I like to do is a pile of shit, I am going to get hysterical. (I can feel it in my bones / I�m gonna spend my whole life writing code�) And to anyone who asks me why I�m so depressed these days, just a warning, you are asking to get slapped.

The interview yesterday was really not so bad per se. Three out of the four interviews I�d grade myself at least a B+, and one was with a mouth-breathing dev lead who talked like Froggy from the Little Rascals and seemed reluctant to take my word that my background is not in electrical engineering. I felt human rapport with at least two of the non-reptiles, and I suggested a new feature for the next version of their flagship product that they�re high if they don�t at least think about. It�s just that while I was there and after, I was thinking about the salary issue, the rigors they felt entitled to put me through for so little money � four one-on-one interviews for what, come on, has to be the bottom of the totem pole, not to mention the promise of at least that many more if I pass muster and am asked back. I could make more as a secretary; if I worked as a permanent employee in the office where I�m temping, I could make more doing data entry in a ratty back-corner cubicle (GED preferred). So there was a part of me thinking, No. You do *not* get to ask me whether I�m an expert user of [software], that is not a fair requirement. This is not what an expert costs. I felt that my despair must be so transparent to them, simply because I hadn�t said no-thanks as soon as I heard the money part. I felt ugly and ashamed. I could not respect myself and I could not respect them. In between No. 3 and No. 4, I allowed myself a short daydream in which everyone who�d been phone-screened heard the money part and said no thanks, no thanks and I�m worth more than that so I wouldn�t be able to consider the job unless it paid me in accordance with what I�d bring to it. I know, cue "The Internationale." But, fuck. I can�t live like this. My dignity tells me I shouldn�t go back for the seconds even if they want me to � if I got the job, how could I comport myself as a professional and not feel like a fraud? A bitter fraud. I�d be paranoid that people knew how much I was making and were snickering and slapping each other five � aww yeah, we got ourselves a sucker! � behind my back.

Some people will say that the problem is me and that I should learn to suck it up and deal and accept my lot as a relative untouchable in the new world order. Maybe they�re right. But I have tried to suck it up, truly I have, and my throat closes and I can�t swallow, it feels like a reflex. Should I go get hypnotized or something? Yeah, that�s exactly what I need, some sub-therapist implanting subconscious suggestions that my self-esteem needs to be even lower. Now that�s a party waiting to happen.

It would be easier if I personally knew anyone, one mammal!, who was in a similar situation to mine. But everyone I know except the teachers � whose jobs are secure and pensions unstoppable � is a code wrangler or escaped the tech bust by serving in a managerial or biscuitty capacity or, let�s be honest, does something I�d hate at almost any price so maybe I shouldn�t be counting them. So I seem to myself like the most pathetic of all my friends, but it�s worse because I�m the *only* one who�s pathetic. I�m the stain on the rug or the tear in the sweater, whatever. They�re ready to offer this job to Candidate L pending a five-minute phone call to her boss that can take place on Monday (irony alert: they checked my references harder for a temp stint) and I bet when they find out I�m taking two days off to go to New York they�ll want me to hand over the wheel before that. A week and a half more, and then what am I going to do, what will become of me? I have no idea. I�m terrified. And this hostile employment climate is the city in which I am proposing to make my home indefinitely? How can I be so stubborn and stupid? What is it going to take for me to come to my senses?



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.