dishery.diaryland.com


Docked
(2004-01-28 - 4:01 p.m.)


Dude called back after all! He screened me lightly but firmly and now I have to call him again first thing tomorrow morning and pick a time to go get interviewed tomorrow afternoon.

Also, my sister sent me a hardbound daybook featuring a cartoon character named Pascualina. Everything�s beautifully illustrated in trippy bright colors, and it�s all in Spanish. Here�s what the page for my birthday says: La envidia y la ambici�n suelen ir de la mano y llevan a las personas a nunca estar conforme con lo tienen. Vigile de cerca sus sentimientos para que extirpe a tiempo estos vicios. Too true.

Ha ha, I am just kidding, you know I don�t know Spanish.

I thought I�d be writing a lot today, but honestly the sense of relief I feel from just these few unmolested hours at the coffee-girl desk is like a tangible thing, I want to sit and wallow in it. I�m so happy I feel drunk. At five I have to go get my car from C.L � is it the battery? Is it the starter? No, it�s both! � then 6:30 haircut then at 8:30 Steve and I have a Linda�s date with my financier friend Joe so we can pick his brain about, ugh, interest rates and stuff. I so so so do not want to be buying property now or even watching from the sidelines as Steve does with a mortgage all his own (I�d eventually be his tenant in that scenario and would also have no veto power if he decided to get something with a tiny kitchen or only one bedroom, and then I�d be stuck in it for years), my blood is already curdling from dread that Joe and then Steve�s real-estate-agent pal Debbie will advise us absolutely to go for it because the interest rates really are all that and a bag of chips and that however much they�re going to tick up in a few months would be more points than what a mortgage application with an unemployed (!!) person on it will get docked now.

Yeah, I also hate myself for polluting my diary with such gauche exposition as this. Sorry, I will try not to do it again. That�s pretty much the whole story anyway. And not that I�m counting chickens but just for your information the job for which I�ll be interviewing does not pay very well, less than the permanent version of the one I�m temping at now. Earlier today I was looking at listings for condos in Miami. For what it costs to buy a fixer-upper in an iffy neighborhood in Seattle, there you could have two bedrooms and a view, a gym, and a pool on the roof within five or so blocks from the ocean.

Remember that time � no, you probably don�t � way back in, what was it, August of 2001 when I made myself take a month�s respite from a certain subject? I hereby undertake to muzzle myself again, except this time it�s the R � real estate. Watch me. Starting now.

I overslept this morning after staying up until one watching "Ali," which a friend of Steve�s had loaned him. Is it a shortcoming in me or in Will Smith that I can�t watch anything he does without thinking, like, Oh, that�s Will Smith playing a guy who got caught up in some spy stuff, now here�s the Fresh Prince imitating a boxer? I feel bad. Smith doesn�t resemble Ali in the slightest, either, except for the meatiness of his face was a nice effect (was that makeup or muscle?) and he�d obviously worked hard to copy Ali�s physical comportment, the way he ran and moved and leaned. Steve has not seen "When We Were Kings"; I will rectify that very soon. As a filmmaker, Michael Mann is less artist than zealot � though let me be clear, that isn�t a takedown. It is less judgment than report.

People are coming back now. They�re crazy. Oh well, time to sober up.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.