dishery.diaryland.com


No title
(2003-12-15 - 2:49 p.m.)


Well, put me in a fuzzy acrylic sweater with sequins on it and let me pour you some coffee, I�m your new temp secretary. I start tomorrow at nine, the office is a 20-minute walk from home, and Temp Pimp A, through whom the newspaper interview scheduled for tomorrow afternoon had been arranged, is pissed as hell. I gave her the info and she said only "Eeew," in a tone of voice to suggest well-*this*-makes a-lot-of-trouble-for-me-you-ungrateful-peon and then hung up on me. So I think we can call that one yet another burned bridge. I guess I�ll deal with it later. About the interview, not much to tell. I knew that it was going to be with the woman who needed the secretary, so I frumped up a little bit, choosing a A-line gray plaid skirt, gray cashmere cardigan � women you�re going to be working for don�t like to see you at the interview looking prettier or more put together than they are. Unless, of course, this is absolutely not the case, and I did lose heart for a few moments when in the reception area I encountered the other chick who was in for the second interview. She had fake tits, a fake tan, pancake makeup, streaky shiny dyed-blond hair in a perfect French twist, a tight navy suit with an extremely short skirt, and a degree � all right, when I sent postmortem e-mail to Steve I called it a "degree" � in Secretarial Studies. I said some things in the e-mail about how if they picked the cover girl over me then I would know that it was an issue not of competence but of type. And yes, I would have known that, but all the same I am glad that I am not in a position to have to know it; I�m actually going to type this sentence: I am glad that the new temp secretary is me.

I forgot to make a crack last time, a la Padgett Powell, about straddling the boundary between Word and word processing. Thought of it as soon as I�d posted, oh well.

I just wrote a long paragraph that started "Portland was depressing" and then got all kinds of depressing about a few topics besides Portland. I don�t know if I can write for a while. There are certain sentences that when you type them, whatever else you�d type in addition seems to matter a whole lot less.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.