dishery.diaryland.com


Recording secretary
(2003-12-12 - 10:06 p.m.)


How bad is the job market in Seattle? It�s so bad that I had a panel interview this morning for a back-office secretarial temp gig of a few weeks� duration, and they want me to come back on Monday for a second interview and bring, wait for it, writing samples. Holy shit. Back in the day, I once got a writing job �payroll, benefits, "manager" in the title, very grown-up salary � without having to bring in writing samples, and I can�t think of a better example of what the tech bust hath wrought than this Before and After picture. Also I have another first interview on Tuesday for a maternity leave fill-in as the assistant to an executive assistant at an esteemed local publications (hint: not the Stranger, not the one run by lower primates). The assisto one pays about 85% of what the other one does and it starts at 7:30 but it would go until April or � I add this because I have to � until I got a real job and left. I had thought, after the interview today, that if I didn�t get tapped it would be because I was overqualified; they asked me about my word processing experience and then looked at me like I was speaking in tongues when I recited all the programs I�m down with. They had thought that word processing and Word were synonymous. This fact, and the garish Christmas sweaters worn by both women on the panel, will be satisfying to remember if I do not get the job.

Clarification: even if the jukebox at Mango�s had let me play Eartha Kitt, I don�t think I�d be going back there anyway, because it is just plain gross, a little bit of Kirkland in the middle of Capitol Hill. There were all kinds of overgrown frat boys in fleece vests yelling "Dude!" and "�Sup, dawg?" to each other across the bar. Just plain gross. Two nights ago, on the eve of Stephen�s departure for England, we went with him and Dave to the non-gross Cha Cha, where immediately upon walking in I had a close encounter with a certain ex of mine who was sitting at the bar. Yawn. I debuted the slutty shirt I got last month at the Cube and a guy I didn�t know brought me a glass of water when I started coughing. Shirt works! And later, bourbon fueled and in the context of talking about the interview with Bible Bob � who did want to hire me, by the way � and my prospective crap future on the employment and financial tips, I told them about the idea for the book project that I�ve had percolating for a while. I don�t even know how serious I am about it, I mean how viable it is, so I have hereby decided it would be lame to keep being all Minister of Information. Also, friendly support is nice. Here�s me making some notes: 1. Steve asked me how long I think I�d need to be working on it if I put in 20 hours a week. I said six months but a lot would depend on how fast other people got back to me, how fast I could get/be put in touch with other people in the first place, not to mention that the publishing connections I used to have I think it�s fair to say are now disconnected. 2. Sorry I�m being cryptic. 3. The guys said, No, don�t make it a non-fiction book, that will never work. Write it as a novel instead. And I wanted to say, "No, but it *is* a non-fiction book" � but of course it isn�t anything, is it? It surprised me how vehement they were about the matter, I felt as though a focus group had yielded unexpected results and I should take notice. 4. It�s true that not everyone has my wahrheitlust, I mean in the (non-self-congratulatory and occasionally even self-destructive) sense of the diary, the record, etc. What�s also true is that non-fiction can get you sued for libel. It�s a consideration. 5. What if I could fictionalize it, what if let�s say instead of the non-fiction book it was a novel about the girl who�s writing the non-fiction book? 6. If I end up having to take something like a back-office secretarial job and I don�t mean temping, I am probably going to need to have something secret (and, ha, Minister of Information-ish) to keep myself from going insane. A novel would do. 7. Note please, this ain�t literature we�re talking about here. This would be a product aimed squarely at a market sector, this would be a potential money-making venture. This would contain zero soul and would not be Art. So don't get any ideas.

I had something else I wanted to write here and I can�t remember what it is. And now I�m sorry I mentioned any of the above, because I don�t want to seem to give it more weight than it deserves. I�m feeling crummy about life in general right at this moment, but it�s not the kind of crummy you die from. It�s a good night to stay in and be domestic, drink some wine and eat some ice cream, and go to sleep on the early side so I can head off to Portland tomorrow. Blah. Flu�s all but gone, though. That�s something, right?

I am going to start studying German next week.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.