dishery.diaryland.com


I can feel it in my bones
(2003-04-09 - 5:09 p.m.)


Here�s how sick I�ve been: All day Monday I forgot that it was NCAA championship day. I forgot until it was six minutes to Tuesday, and then yesterday I couldn�t muster the energy to find out who won, so I didn�t get what I thought was the news until around ten today, almost a day and a half late, when I checked my Inbox and there was something from my father, but I somehow managed to read it wrong and I didn�t know for sure until a few hours ago. I couldn�t sit up or walk without excruciating pain until around 4 pm yesterday. Also, when I went to the doctor on Monday, finally willing to pay hundreds of dollars (antibiotics, $96.11 and I might need more) rather than die of the kidney infection I had been in denial about since the kung fu thing last Thursday, my pee was at least two standard deviations above the norm for blood, nitrites, and protein, and it was between one and two above for a bunch of other things that weren�t printed in bold type so I didn�t take note of them on the lab report. Steve points out that this puts my pee in the top 5%, which presumably includes samples taken from people who are pretty bad off. I point out that to have a kidney infection is to be pretty bad off. I don�t want to brag or anything, but this one and my previous two are the worst pain I�ve ever had to deal with. I can�t sleep more than half an hour or 45 minutes at a time without waking up in agony and needing to shift position, which also means that I probably haven�t had any REM sleep since Saturday night. So, yeah, now I�m on Levaquin, which is supposed to be like a kinder gentler Cipro, though I have my doubts, and the superdeluxe kidney-targeting painkillers that turn my remarkable pee magenta. I don�t have an appetite, my gums have turned whitish (sorry), and I still can�t walk so good. I can�t multitask so good, either � antibiotics always kick my ass � so I don�t have much time to write. But I hope I�ll start to feel better soon. Tomorrow I will start catching up on all the diary action I missed.

Sometime Monday afternoon, sweating and shaking in bed, I had what I thought was an epiphany. It went a little something like this: You know what, Vanessa was right. I *am* exactly and only what I already am, too smart for my own good and too undereducated to get anywhere cool. And work mostly sucks, it�s just a fact. So I should give up on schooling on any kind and think of my IRA, and I should make my number one goal in life getting out of here and getting a job that pays better, with suckage of job and salary at which I�d be willing to do it directly proportional. Then I had a brilliant feverish flash of insight: Hey, when Vanessa quits her job in the summer to go to law school, I�ll ask her if she�d be willing to put in a good word for me to take it over. Since, of course, there would be no advanced-degreeing in the offing for little old me, and since in that particular instance the proportions would suit me just fine. But comes today the lousy news, straight out of Bastards HQ, that Vanessa got laid off, and I can�t help feeling like it�s an omen.

In any case, though, the number one goal remains the same. After I start feeling better enough that the multitasking kicks back in, it's all about job applications on the job for me. Anyplace that would hire me above a monkey level will work with me on the schedule that bends to fit in a science class, and if I find a monkey job that pays substantially better than Gastro does (actually a strong likelihood), well, I'll deal with it when I have to. Forward progress!

Oh, and speaking of the Against Bastards HQ Department: Things that didn�t make their way from the mail bundle to Dr. Blahblah�s Inbox today include (1) a renewal notice for his RNCC membership and (2) an invitation, on what purports to be Tom DeLay�s stationery, to "the premier Republican event of the year, the President�s Dinner, in Washington, on Wednesday, May 21, 2003." He would have gone, too. And, back to the subject of advanced-degreeing, if I may, at dinner on Friday night � which I misdescribed before and, shiver me timbers, turned out to be with a married couple from the East Side � Steve�s pal asked me what I did and Steve jumped in, supplying that I was in a state of employment flux just now. "What do you do when you�re not in flux?" inquired the married Eastsider pleasantly, and that is when Steve basically told them that I was a writer. He said, as if this were a quantifiably good thing, that I was a dedicated and prolific diarist (he didn�t elaborate and they didn�t ask), that my e-mails were the best he�d ever received, etc. It was some mighty fulsome praise, kids, from a guy who might be my boyfriend but who has never let that stand in the way of his delivering the unvarnished facts as bluntly as possible, can you hear my voice creaking with the strains of diplomacy here, and just like in a book I caught myself with my mouth open at the shock of it, though then I closed it because I am a charming dinner guest and charming dinner guests do not gape. I never knew he felt one way or another about my stupid e-mails. Has he perhaps found the diary in question, is he reading it right now? Ha ha ha ha ha wait that�s not funny. So also all weekend there was a little part of me wondering, Fuck, should I really and truly throw in the towel on MFA school forever? Maybe it�s true that I judge myself too harshly, if even such a tough customer can find something to admire in the haphazard wiseass e-mails I toss off without any eye to posterity. I shut that part up on Monday, I thought, with the auspicious appearance of the work-mostly-sucks theory and plan, but now, oh, oh, I don�t know. Oh, and Mrs. Eastsider counsels vociferously against going into teaching � she's going back to school, herself, for a certificate in usability studies.

But bwah hah hah I was so right about the changing-careers book by that industry tool Po Bronson. This is from industry tool John Markoff�s article in the NYT today, "Is There Life After Silicon Valley�s Fast Lane?" Several of Mr. Bronson's case studies are about people who found the valley's 24/7 relentlessness to be a "toxic environment." Tim Bratcher, for example, worked at Cooley Godward, one of the region's most prestigious law firms, but hated the pressures. He left Silicon Valley for Atlanta and ultimately turned to teaching law for satisfaction. Hey, that�s what I�ll do, I�ll quit Gastro and I�ll teach law! I wouldn�t have thought of that � thanks, Po!

Also from today�s reading is an AP wire report about the woman who had both breasts removed after a misdiagnosis of cancer that itself was caused by a lab mix-up. She�s suing the pathologist, who was quoted as saying, "There is no question I made a mistake," and the pathologist�s employer, for "more than $200,000." Doesn�t this figure seem on the low side? Especially since you figure there are going to be negotiations, and you don�t start with what you�re willing to accept? I�m baffled here.

I got spit on by a kid today. And I saw another kid wearing a t-shirt with a whole pack of cartoon characters I did not recognize and, printed above them in a comic-book-style font, "A Fat Abort." WTF?

I�m not sure there�s any future in the Steve thing. Maybe I�ll write more about that at some point, but probably not.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.