dishery.diaryland.com


I'm the linguist
(2003-04-04 - 10:38 a.m.)


Here�s a bad thing that�s happening at Gastro lately. Since my colleagues know that I have better skills than they do in the departments of, for example, formatting documents, strong-arming Word, making pretty graphics, and dealing with yellers on the telephone, they don�t try anymore and instead come wheedling to Yours Truly. "Can you help me?" they beseech. So I go to their workstations and I tell them what the problem is and how to fix it, and I walk them through what to do, and I always say something like Yes, great, you�ve got it, so next time you�ll be able to do it by yourself. But even if they are able to, they don�t want to, and two days or two weeks later, there they are again, can-you-help-me? Earlier this week I was called upon to draft an e-mail because, I was told by the draft shirker whose desk it would be sent from, "you�re the linguist." The linguist? Here are the facts that the e-mail needed to contain: Dear Recipient, (1) you are invited to (2) a talk by a visiting doctor on (3) his pet subject (4) in the auditorium from (5) noon to one on Friday. (6) Sorry, no lunch, so bring yours, but (7) we�ll have some token cookies on hand, and (8) tell your friends, since we have a lot of seats to fill. You really don�t need advanced linguistics training, or, hell, I�ll go out on a limb and say you don�t need any at all to write something like that. Then yesterday afternoon I stayed until almost six because the concept of a screen shot is apparently beyond some people, and likewise so is that of specifications � make it bigger, on second thought make it smaller, oh and while you�re at it can you also make me caption and no-caption versions of Figures 3 through 7 in this PowerPoint presentation? I don�t know what to do about this. I am a team player, it has been well established that I have no aversion to doing my share of scut work, and in most cases the people who are refusing to do stuff because I can do it better � the implication is that because I can, I *should*, and I don�t even know where to start with that; what, is Rebecca entitled to go on a hunger strike until I start cooking meals for her? � are people I like, which puts me in a situation even awkwarder than the one I�m already in on account of still being a temp and having to assume that everything I can do above and beyond the etc. will increase the likelihood that I�ll get hired and therefore is a grit-your-teeth necessity.

Which on the other hand is very nice to realize because it�s yet another factor convincing me that my particular terminal B.A. has become a shithole and it�s time to move to a new neighborhood. Also, Dr. Blahblah asked me yesterday if I�d be willing to do some confidential, non-hospital work for him personally. I would have to take it home and do it on non-hospital time and on non-hospital machines because apparently there are some liability or conflict-of-interest issues involved. He said he�d pay me, but I�d rather have him owing me a big favor.

Kung fu: don�t go if you�ve only had an unsatisfying snack since breakfast and are losing the battle against a bladder infection and are wearing street clothes to everyone else�s workout gear. After I had to eschew a proper dinner because I didn�t get out of here until late, grrr, all I was fit to do was sit and observe, which I had figured wouldn�t be a problem, but the instructor had other ideas. I was not happy. I guess I�m leaning towards signing up for the baby class, with my main reservation being that for most of the people I talked to last night, it isn�t about taking classes a few times a week, it is about "training." As in, "I�ve been training for a year." As in, kung fu classes are my lifestyle, this is what I do, I identify as a martial artist, I have arranged my schedule so that I can come to the studio during the daytime. And I don�t want that � I�m looking for an impetus to get my ass out of the house and use a different set of muscles than running does, and that's all. The baby class probably wouldn�t be so bad, but then later when most of the others started training and I was still taking classes � I also got the impression that this is a little bit looked down on, as if it *should* be my goal to be in training � then everyone else would be getting promoted faster than me, and I�d be the school dunce. And I know that if I liked what I was doing in my classes, this shouldn�t concern me, but I also know that it does.

Oh, and the dream. I guess it wasn�t so funny after all. Steve was the Tick, and the basement of the house in Fremont where I used to go pick up the co-op vegetables was actually made of bricks of compacted marijuana, and I was a superhero too, a minor one, who had the power of disappearing by flinging myself hard at the ground, but only if my torso went splat before any limbs did. That�s about it.

I�ll try to write more later and whine less, maybe after the doc talk. Right now I want to drink my tea, eat my donut, read my book, and sulk a little.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.