dishery.diaryland.com


May Sarton, in "Journal of a Solitude"
(2003-03-20 - 11:23 a.m.)


I do not feel disloyal when I talk about my own life or that of the many others who pour in here one way or another. What I am loyal to, I hope, is something more complex, i.e., I would not use things I know about anyone�s private life to further my own ends. That would be both indiscreet and disloyal. But I believe we learn through the experiences of others as well as through our own, constantly meditating upon them, drawing the sustenance of human truth from them, and it seems natural to me to wish to share these aper�us, these questions, these oddities, these dilemmas and pangs. Why? Partly, I suppose, because the more one is a receptacle of human destinies, as I have become through my readers, the more one realizes how very few people could be called happy, how complex and demanding every deep human relationship is, how much real pain, anger, and despair are concealed by most people. And this is because many feel their own suffering is unique. It is comforting to know that we are all in the same boat.

(Catharine, I'm sending you this book the instant I finish it. Make a place on your nightstand.)



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.