dishery.diaryland.com


.667, 3.89, 100%
(2003-03-19 - 3:53 p.m.)


OK, so I do not hate my diary. I am large, I contain multitudes. I don�t hate anyone. What I do hate, though, is when it�s assumed that what I have said is not the truth. That what I say and have said in a matter-of-fact manner can be called bullshit upon at any time based on an arcane and rosicrucian methodology to which, Star Chamber-like, I am not privy. That I keep a diary partly for the purpose of unleashing my alleged secret contempt on people I care about and admire, presumably because I don�t have the balls to do this in person. Not to put too fine a point on it, but if I wanted that kind of garbage in my life, I�d still be going out with Todd. It�s a fact, friend, A.T. there�s one thing above all that I�m sensitive and righteous and none-shall-pass about � yes, and how-dare-you � and that�s the general category of assaults on my forthrightness both in specific cases and in general. I talked to Catharine this morning, who reminded me that I do chafe from this position of increased sensitivity (reminded me sensitively, because she is the bomb of all bombs) and also sympathized, because she knows that at this point in my life I�m deploying more truth, more widely, than I ever have in my life. She knows it�s become a mission of sorts, just like most of my pals understand that one big reason I went so off the deep end with Todd is that I�d somehow acknowledged that his paranoid accusations were worthy of logical defense, and I began to defend myself against them, defend the soulless Machiavellian he insisted I was. I almost went for Julian�s jugular vein two weeks ago at trivia when he suggested, a quarter teasingly, that I was guilty of self-misrepresentation when I claimed that I�d wanted to like the first movie in the Peter Jackson Hobbit trilogy and had gone in with an open mind. I will admit that I was never a fan of the Tolkien books and that the fantasy genre leaves me cold and that from day one I thought that Elijah Wood was the most brain-dead casting move in a long time, but I like high production values and I love Ian McKellen, and a lot of critics I generally trust had been left swooning, and besides why would I spend the money and waste the time hoping that the movie would be lousy? I don�t do things like that, I have no truck with Kundera�s fabled second tear, and I damn well think that my friends should realize this about me. That was my argument to Julian � who the hell was he to tell me what was on my mind as I was walking into the theater and what aesthetic and philosophical bases I was operating from? And what I know now, what I scavenged from the crash of the August breakup night and now guard as a treasure, is that our friends deserve the benefit of the doubt. Even if it looks iffy, as I imagine my claim did to Julian � and then, argh, probably he interpreted as protesting too much my increasingly desperate attempts to make him believe me � we have to believe them. We owe them this or they owe us nothing. But see, even in telling about something so narratively minor, how evangelically I come off? I make my own case here: this is how I feel, this is what I believe like religion. And I forget sometimes that other people do not feel this way, if only because such injustice has not been done to them as to make them change their minds (lucky monkeys, and I hope it never is; what is the opposite of being born again?), and it�s hard for me not to see you lied or a variant as anything but the worst insult I could suffer and one that I will *not* suffer. And, above all, after all it�s been through and how hard I�ve fought to rehabilitate it and put my voice back in there where it belongs, why would I start using my diary as the implement of evil that Todd said it was? Why would I become the thing it killed me, a little bit for a long time, to have anyone, however, paranoically, believe I was, rather than the thing that saved me and that continues to do so?

I don�t know. I'm sorry if I am sensitive and overreact when people question my integrity, but waah and goddamn, I *am* sensitive. And � this is me talking to me here � if I can�t make all this clear to you, if I haven�t by now, then I�m not going to, and I need not to take that personally and let go of the panic and the desperate evangelism that will get me nowhere but away from what I want this diary to be. We now return to our regularly scheduled programming.

Here is some news today from my home state, where on the eve of war they really know what matters. Also, can you believe that Kevin Kline turned down the part in "Chicago" that went to Richard Gere? Kevin, what were you thinking? You would have been so much better! And my haircut, I decided, makes me look like Iris Murdoch as a PowerPuff Girl � no, this is a good thing.

Earlier this week I sent for info on the postbac program at the UW. I am not allowed to speak in person to an academic advisor until I have read their packet. They are the UW and can afford to be a bit Stalinist about this, so I won�t whine. On the web site they caution that only a few people per semester are admitted as postbacs, boo, and also that screening is done largely on the basis of college GPA, hooray. So we�ll see. Also in this department, I worked up my nerve and told Steve, this morning (in the context of a state-of-the-union conversation, HOLY CATS, about which all I will say is what I told Catharine, which is that it�s not often I�m craving a cocktail before ten in the morning), about what has replaced MFA school in my distant sights. He did not laugh at me and, on the whole, is in my sister�s camp. He had good advice, which I would not otherwise have got, about where the money is and isn�t. He does not think I am ridiculous. He is dreamy. Also he points out that the SCCC evening program has surprisingly good basic science classes that are cheaper than the UW and can eventually be transferred there. I am going to look up their spring schedule tonight or tomorrow and, who knows, if there�s anything available for next semester, maybe I will jump all over it.

After the initial cycle of anomie-epiphany-terror-inertia, this all turns out to be easier than I�d thought. Not the doing, of course, about which I don�t have any illusions � Steve said, "Oh man, is your life going to be hard for a while" � but another kind of letting go, the one where I say that with my degree and this economy I am in danger of living out my working life as a master of administrivia, doomed and damned by my superior abilities in all the office fundamentals, and that if I want things to be drastically different I am going to have to make some drastic changes. I use the word "drastic," but there�s nothing to be afraid of, it�s just an adjective, just a qualitative descriptor: be cool, baby. It will be all right. Things worth having cost time and money to get (and I also console myself with the contrapositive of this statement, which is that the free money I had was never really mine anyway). There�s a woman I know here at the hosp who is smart and funny and a fantastic cook. She works as a scheduler, sort of fell into it years ago when she needed work, and to her it�s a job, it�s what they pay her for, fine, she has no affinity for it but she has a family and a mortgage she presumably contributes to and big-time job security and she can�t afford to make a change. Recently she tried to switch to a different schedule that would only have required her to come in three days a week, and the hospital turned her down. Ever since then she�s seemed a little bit sad and a little bit bitter, not as talkative as she used to be except more resignedly vocal about the aspects of her station that are pure drudgery. Maybe I�m projecting � then again, maybe whatever works � but I do not want that to happen to me.

I have more to say but want to get at least a token amount of work done today before I leave at 4:45. Any minute now Matt P. is going to call me about the bracket I faxed him earlier, and I expect that some degree of vigorous discussion is in the offing.

Drinking beer with Steve at the Nite Lite last night, I watched the Sonics and talked a little basketball. I went running last weekend and have plans soon to meet up with Art and, in return for Indian food, have him take a professional look at my creaky knee. I've been reading more and, every day for a few weeks now, showing the crossword who's boss. I�m feeling like myself is coming back to me, piece by piece as each new bit has settled back into place, showing me the nexus of "reward" and "earn" because now I have what I need to understand that intersection and to understand how it works in me. For the first time in many moons I�m feeling good and optimistic about my life, even hopeful, and what Epictetus says, The only thing we have control over is our own actions feels simultaneously like Bactine and jet fuel. I�m thinking about the bugs and the fruit � like, what does it quantifiably feel like to make and maintain an active commitment to putting oneself in the latter category? When my brain reflexively resists the effort at some random moment, what is it that it�s resisting? How is dating a fruit-eater different from dating a bug-eater, both when you�re sitting at his dining room table talking, say, and also at every second when you are apart from him but he is still there? How are state-of-the-union conversations inherently different with one than they are with the other, no matter how scary is their subject matter? What is the cumulative impact of having a fruit-eater boyfriend in one�s life? What are the implied responsibilities? And also, how much more one is gratified and thankful � how much more one feels inexpressibly lucky, and saved, and rescued back from something bad � to have fruit-eaters as readers and as friends. Catharine, I am talking about you.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.