dishery.diaryland.com


Is this thing on?
(2004-12-20 - 4:52 p.m.)


Your Humble Correspondent went on hiatus. (You noticed, right? Say yes.) This was due to a combination of factors; at first I had a comma here and then the word "notably" and I kept trying to figure out the main one and then figure out how to parse it, but stuff like that has always been, notably, what tends to make me sufficiently self-conscious about the writing thing so as not to do it for a while: let�s go with the unapologetic and clauseless declarative and keep the line moving. I don�t want to keep up the anonymous D-land diary. The proposition of elsewhere-izing, like with the unanonymous Typepad address that, hello, I am already paying for, gives me hives. It is a conundrum that I will soon have abundant time to dwell on and I hope resolve, because my very hours here at the Homeland Security factory, I have learned, are numbered. Once again I am face to face with the public-sector hiring policy in which anyone in certain protected classes � namely, and sorry if this makes me sound all Federalist Society but you know you are curious and I�m just reporting facts, the recently laid off, those receiving disability services, and relatives of those already in the system � get dibs on a job, regardless of their lack of aptitude for it, before any non-protected applicant, regardless of her aptitude for it, or in this particular case regardless of how she�s being doing that job for the past several months and is by now the repository of a good deal of institutional knowledge. I hope I don�t sound bitter, because I�m not. What I am is disgusted and fed up. The situation is that pals of mine here keep skulking up to express condolences about the situation, namely two such protectees duking it out with HR as referee over who gets the right to evict me, and saying things like, "But it�s not about you. Seriously, you should know that neither of them are qualified and you�re the best candidate" like that is supposed to make me feel better rather than as if I am a penny in the digestive tract of a wholly corrupt system. You chumpolas don�t want the Homeland secured after all, you want to have someone�s sister the receptionist come in and figure out how to write grants and give presentations and wangle with other agencies and not miss any one of the dozens of deadlines? Fine, what-the-fuck-ev, I�m washing my hands of the whole infected scene. And the same people tell me Oh don�t be sad, that they know it stinks to be me now but imagine how great I�ll feel when I finally get in as a full-on public serv�t. and then it will be me who can steamroll over the qualified external applicants and have any job I want. One of them said, "No one will deserve it more than you."

This gig looked like it was going to go on for another six months or so because apparently contract extensions are often justified as an extension of an existing body of work, which the new position obviously is, but it�s HR and not the hiring manager who gets to make that determination, and since HR isn�t involved in the various bodies of work and has no knowledge of them, its decisions are known to be capricious. I won last time, when I got to piggyback another six months on top of the three-month writing project I competed for because none of the Protected wanted it, and this time I lose. In case anyone is at all interested in that last part, which now that I read it I do not imagine is the case. Anyway, that�s the story.

I�m also pissed because now I have to go back and redo a whole spate of grad school essays, the ones in which I discussed, with sincerity that has evaporated, how and why I wanted to work in public service and what I hoped to accomplish there. Did you catch that, did you catch that? The newsiest news of the di hi is that I decided to get serious about applying to school, of which more anon, and after I (no brag) killed on the standardized test, it is a safe assumption that at least one of my applications will be successful and I�ll be out of here in August or so. I have ye olde mixte feelings about this on two counts, and since this page is still a horse with no name, I will share them with you. (1) It�s MBA programs, primarily, that I am applying to. The test I took was the GMAT. See, if I used the adjective "MBA-type" in a sentence, such as "MBA-type thing to do" or even "MBA-type sentences in this paragraph," you would dig my connotation, and said connotation is not favorable. Most MBAs I have known have existed somewhere along the spectrum with slimeballs at one end and total and complete unmitigated slimeballs at the other. Et tu, Brute? Et, since you ask: finally, what other options do I have to increase my odds of employability? Let�s practice for our economics classes next fall and be coldhearted and practical. Temp agencies are still closing down, I know people with master�s degrees who have been looking for work for upwards of a year, and here, for instance, I found a place where I came to like both the work and the people � which may also be news, I forget � and was acknowledged to be very good at what I did, and I still get zero consideration. Baby needs a new pair of shoes, baby needs to start funding her IRA again like a normal grown-up. Baby has not been getting anywhere, here in Seattle, for years. And besides, it is not a requirement that once you get an MBA you must start toiling for Dark Side Inc. � you can ply your trade for a non-profit or you can work for a university, something like that. Hell, if you don't mind sitting there for 20 years waiting to get juicily crapped out by a diseased colon, you can work in the public sector. There is an argument to be made, but not by me because when I try it I either come off as Pollyanna or sound pathetic and self-rationalizing, that an MBA is a good basic credential in the acquisition of which a body can reinvent herself in one or more new and employable ways. I don�t want to be an academic or a lawyer, and I think I must have been high last year when I briefly entertained the idea of an MPH. Therefore, I am doing what I am doing and haters can suck it. (2) Once long ago the rap on me, from a rapper I knew then, was that I was lying when I said what I was like and what and whom I valued because the true answer was that I was slumming with my office jobs and my variously degreed posse and that one day I would surrender to my undeniable nature and run off to grad school, where I would consort exclusively with skinny snotty bluebloods for the rest of my life. And honestly, from time to time I catch myself practicing or rehearsing to tell that person how he is wrong, how MBA school never crossed my mind until last spring and then mostly in the sense of practicality and because it seemed less craven than the other options, that I can�t see a way to steady my life otherwise, that my resume looks like one long bullet list since the tech bust and I�m finding it harder and harder to be glib about, that it is easy for him to talk with his house and his presumably fat IRA and the indestructible job sector in which he without a college degree has carved himself a happy niche, that if he were in my position he might just be inclined to pursue the same course� and then I realize that the only reason I�m getting all exercised is that I do not want him to have the satisfaction of being what he thinks is right � and this is where I try to get all Buddhist and give my ego a spanking and some walking papers � and I force myself to remember what Kurt S., lo these many years ago, taught me about how you can�t talk rationally to an irrational person, and with great embarrassment I bring myself back to the reality-based version of my MBA-wards life, in which, as I have noted, I am doing what I am doing and haters can suck it. But not really. Irrationality is a big and often delicious pie, and I want to be right too. So I still spend a respectable amount of mental energy defending myself against (a) someone who treated me badly and never earned my trust or accorded me any that I had earned and (b) uh, me. I expect I will get over both of these by August, though.

Ah, I am back after so long and already it feels like I�ve never been away. And look, my self-doubt is right here where I left it � still warm!

There�s more, but it�s almost time to go, and since I�m basically waiting for an HR representative to call me and give me an hour to get out of the building (no fooling), my workload is light. So I will finish tomorrow.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.