dishery.diaryland.com


I bleed A+ for effort
(2004-03-28 - 1:09 a.m.)


It�s after midnight on Saturday and I�m wired. Is it because I just got back from a party? No, it�s because I just got back from WORK.

I�m such a fool. I could have been working 40 cushy hours, with health insurance, for a year. Ha ha ha ha ha I hate myself. So the short story is, for anyone who is still reading this, keep the faith and don�t hold your breath � it may be a while. April 19 is my drop-dead for the entire writing phase of the project, after which I may be able to breathe a little easier or, hell, I may drop dead. Tomorrow�s the last day I can sign up for next semester�s classes, and this is absurd but I don�t know if that�s not foolish too but how can that be, it�s so unfair I�m afraid I�m going to try to buck it just on principle and then I�m going to end up in a world of pain; if my birthday thing wasn�t already a going concern I�d wait-�til-next-year it to buy myself another evening on the 23rd floor. When it started to get ugly earlier this week, I briefly entertained the fantasy of going on strike or whatever � if I quit it would take them at least a week to get someone else in, and that person wouldn�t have all my notes because in this fantasy I have taken them with me and thus this other person and the whole gob are both s.o.l. � but then my manager asked me if I might possibly be interested in staying on to work on another project after this one�s over and of course I would, I had to morph from disgruntled to smiley right there in his office and then he said Great, and if you wouldn�t mind, Bob�s been pressed for time and we�d both really appreciate it if you could pitch in and help him finish up with this other thing he�s working on, and, and, shit. And of course it took about three times as long as it should have, and while I was working on it the thing I�m supposed to be writing got two fat sections added to it that I�m going to have to go out and research because there�s no documentation of it on the scene, and then today while I was just starting to get disgruntled-in-spite-of-myself all over again � remember, today is Saturday � I got cc�d on an e-mail spelling out that the potential new project I got approached about is in fact a two-year contract with full benefits. Shit fuck damn hell, you know? Steve is at the dock where the Somerset swings wide and I don�t even care. I went in on Saturday and I did the work. I did the best I could and, no brag, more than I suspect most people would have. I want to take the classes, though. And move, and paint the new apartment, and not crack up, and be away because I�m travelling to Catharine�s father�s retirement party the first Friday in May and then to Steve�s employer�s ship party the one after. And, if it�s not too much to ask, not to crack up.

Astoria was great, as per. Turns out the bartender at my official favorite watering hole there has a gentleman friend in NYC � her son worked as a model there for several years � who has a line on rent-controlled apartments, and she said she�d put us in touch with him if we wanted to move there. Needless to say I tipped like Trump, just in case we decide to take her up on it. (Or is the Donald like certain high-school friends of mine who have built their fortunes partly on the compound interest of the money that�s left over from tipping like chumps?) I saw a personal ad in the Stranger that had in it "must enjoy chai," I am not kidding. A few days ago at work I kept trying to type "standalone" and the beginning kept coming out "satan" and that�s about the size of it.

This entry doesn�t mention the NCAA tournament. Let the record show that this kills me. Aiee. I'm so depressed, I can�t bring myself to return people�s calls to my cell phone about it, the can-you-believe-it and the oh-man-I�m-hosed. You know that sign that smartass (or do I mean jaded?) Cubs fans like to hold up on opening day? Wait �til next year!



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.