dishery.diaryland.com


Get a flu shot
(2003-12-05 - 2:53 p.m.)


I can�t, because I�m allergic to sulfa drugs, but you can. Sorry to have been such a beauty school dropout this week � honestly this is the first day my stuffy spacey head will let me write anything except three-sentence e-mails conveying my apologies for having to crap out of something or other. Maybe you thought that I had managed to score some really sweet temp gig that kept me so busy I didn�t have time to write or that I�d been called back to yet another exotic Eastern Time destination ditto. Ha, I wish. Here�s the true story of my glamorous week. Monday: Woke up feeling strange in a way I couldn�t quite put my finger on. Steve was leaving for work and I was getting ready to check in with the temp agencies when I figured it out. "Huh," I said, "I think I may be getting sick to my stomach." And I was right! Weirdly, the intestinal situation resolved within hours and by early afternoon I was knocked out with chills and fever and terrible achiness and an exhausting impotent cough. Steve brought me drugs and rescheduled Tuesday night�s planned double feature, with Stephen, of digital recording software and Indian food. At night I sweated up the bed so much that the next morning it looked like a day-care class had peed in it. Tuesday: Felt even worse. I slept fitfully until around two, then woke up and heroically began mainlining orange juice, tea, water, repeat. Mrs. Roboto called to say hi and when she found me ill expressed hope that I didn�t have the same flu that has laid low much of her office, including people who never get sick. Oh no, I said, I�ll be better tomorrow and I�ll see you at Book Club on Thursday. Fell asleep early. Slept very poorly; my lower back hurt so much I had to use a folded towel for support. Wednesday: Was not better, though ability to remain vertical for minutes at a time was a solid improvement. Slept pretty much all day. New symptoms included a crushing headache, post-nasal drip, and a constant noise inside my ears like ice cracking. Still couldn�t concentrate well enough to read. Sweated up the bed again. Thursday: You know what would go great with this flu? Cramps. On the plus side, the cough medicine started working. After sleeping most of the day, I hacked and hacked and hacked and kept making myself dizzy and having to sit down. I sent my regrets to Book Club and also to some cookie party I was supposed to go to tonight, because no way was I going to come up with a couple dozen cookies plus a side dish, ha ha ha now that�s a funny one. Today: I am bored out of my gourd, TV is making me crazy, comprehension still impaired, still hacking and wheezing and napping and generally listless, I look like hell, and, hey hey, I�m feeling sick to my stomach again.

I loved this! He reads it so I don�t have to, what a deal.

OK, that�s all I have. I�m going back to bed. Here is what someone on Court TV just said: "As we go to break, let�s go out with a shot of the baby victim." Let�s do, shall we? And get your flu shot.

P.S. Who linked to me on December 1? Do you know?



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.