dishery.diaryland.com


Goodness
(2003-11-14 - 11:45 a.m.)


Elliott Smith: still dead. Steve�s cat: still alive. Steve�s thighs: still fantastic. Me: still alternately panicky and in denial about being panicky and in deep avoidance of the panic-provoking until about the end of next week or so and, more to the point, not much wanting to talk about it here. My hard-won hits-per-day, the little engine that could, must by now be mired in clay � I don�t know, I haven�t signed in to the D for several days � and I accept that. Things to do today including the tree-falling-in-the-forestlike application for a few jobs, but suddenly I feel compelled to enter into record that I�m alive too, etc. Tonight: Stars and Broken Social Scene with Steve and Stephen and, maybe, some special guest stars. Next Friday night is Junior Senior with Mrs. Roboto, with whom I also spent a lovely naked Veterans� Day at the Korean spa in Tacoma (and oh hey, Mrs. R., I did end up telling Steve what we're doing tomorrow, so no need for subterfuge), and then next Sunday I leave on ze plane to West Virginia to see Ms. Lady and her Ms. Lady. Cd from Amar: so cool, with scholarly liner notes that are also hilarious (thanks, Amar!). November: still busy.

Going back to where we left off, the Pr*nc*ton Review thing was a mindfuck in every possible way. Suffice it to say that the narrative included both a person I�d never met before seeming to have picked me at random to humiliate and destroy and me, humiliated and destroyed, boo-hoo-hooing into my cell phone afterwards; it was a very full evening even before I started hitting the bourbon. Nils, in the spirit of corporate spying, the whole ugly story is yours if you want it � let me know. If I had any money, I�d be buying stock in you guys. Here�s how I�m rationalizing fiascoville: I�m a good teacher and I would have been good at the job and probably liked it a lot. But if I were doing it, I�d have to rationalize something else, and that would be the fact that I was contributing to the phenomenon, by means of my skills or talents or whatever, of rich kids acquiring even more advantages than they already have w/r/t standardized tests and hence college admissions. There�s a reason I don�t apply for jobs at St*rbucks or Am*zon, either (OK, in the latter example there are two), and in each case it has to do with some aspect of the good old personal-as-political, and like I think my integrity rebounds for keeping that part of me untamperable-with I believe I�m ultimately better off having nothing to do with such an insert-censorious-adjectives-here organization as the Review. Not to get all communist on you or anything. I cried, I drank, I�m over it. Also, not going through their training means that my January and February Saturdays are wide open, and this means that I can apply to take the classes at the UW that are part of that tech writing and editing certification; did I write about that here? About which whole project I don�t think I need to note that I have mixed feelings, but I�m trying to focus on how if I were ever able to parlay said coursework into a writing or editing job like I used to do before the tech bust instead of the administrative temp monkey-shit that has been my post-bust lot, then I will make up for the class tuition with my first year�s salary. Also on how it�s often advisable for the confused simply to pick a lane and stay in it. There�s no way I can begin to think about applying to any of the master�s programs I�m interested in for at least two years, which means that Meantime is a concept it behooves me to get cozy with, and to exploit. Allegedly the certificate courses also offer networking and job-placement assistance, and I feel like even if all I�m paying for is the opportunity to get in front of, argh, an actual in-person person, the opportunity for a good-teacher, good-employee, good-golly human connection, then it will have been worth it. Note: acceptance to the classes is not a foregone conclusion. There are only two seats available, and the program coordinator told me that there will be competition for them. But I have the GPA and the resum� and, if I may say so, the ability to come up with a passable personal statement, and I hope my pals will also be crossing their fingers for me. The application�s due at the beginning of December. In late-breaking news, Steve is semi-agitating for me to consider a move away from Seattle soon, ideally to (a) Germany or (b) a place that promises better employment opportunities for both of us. If I had a guaranteed non-monkey job lined up, I�d do it in a heartbeat (and for all my big fed-up talk lately, it was sobering to realize this, that I had 100% meant it all along), but the fact is I�ve become so pessimistic that I fixate on a hypothetical scenario in which he gets a job somewhere else that is supposed to be less of a wasteland than Seattle as far as my so-called field is concerned, Miami say, and we go there and it turns out that nope, I�m still only eligible to scrape the bottom of the temp-agency barrel. Then what? Then I am in the same old situation of having no job and no prospects but I am in a city where I don�t know my way around and don�t know anyone. Some of my friends are so cheap, for instance, that I won�t go out to dinner with them because I don�t want to have an aneurysm when they propose a ten percent tip, but they are my friends. They are mine, and they are here. Germany almost looks more appealing � I�d have to do the equivalent of work as an under-the-table bagger in a supermarket for a few years until I had the language and I�d be at risk of being deported, but at least it would be an adventure, and one with socialized medicine. If I get into the classes, I want to stay in that lane until I�ve completed the coursework for a certificate, which would be in about a year�s time. But after that, I�ll be open to suggestions, itineraries, destinations.

Then last Saturday I went to a 30th birthday party that turned out to be one of those miraculous nights where I drank for hours (x = 6, we closed down the bar) and woke up hangover-free. But this is not even the best part: at the party I met some 25-year-olds who upon learning how old I am seemed shocked, said that they would have guessed me for 23, and demanded details of my moisturizing regimen. Even the guy! I was so grateful and also so drunk that I told them everything, including the part I usually do not reveal, my personal version of the Colonel�s secret recipe. The next day I was driving around on some grocery errands, remembering my triumph and feeling very good about myself, and I glanced vainly into my rearview mirror while giving myself permission to appreciate what I�d see, and what did I see? From that unaccustomed angle, a wellspring, just back of my bangs, of white hair � like an albino spider sitting contentedly on top of my head. Ha ha. Also I should add that the Korean lady who scrubbed me would disagree with the bar kids� estimation. The dead skin came off of me like fat rolls of toejam, sorry but it�s true, and again I got the lecture about applying some more conscientiousness to my exfoliation routine. I think I need a new scrubby thing, or to go to remedial classes. The scrubber�s basic but functional English had a charming quirk � instead of saying that I was a good girl, this I mean for not whimpering while she vanquished my epidermis, she kept saying, "Oh, pretty girl! You�re such a pretty girl." I�m having a little problem with "good" and the gym lately � like, since I have all this free time I�ve been going pretty regularly, almost every weekday, and staying so long that early this week I put a two-hour limit on myself for the sake of self-preservation. (On the other hand: I�ve lost almost six pounds and, no brag, my thighs are not looking too shabby either.) When I leave the gym, spacey and with my exhausted muscles shaking, in the same way as I let myself look in the mirror last Sunday I allow myself � vaguely � a compliment or a moment of high self-regard or, fuck, a good grade, I tell myself something along the lines of good. But you see, this "good" implies bad, and not only am I eventually going to be in a position where ten hours a week at the gym is unfeasible, I don�t like the idea of ever having to call myself bad upon leaving the gym because after all I have just been to the gym and done at least something. Once again I am coming up against my constitutional aversion to moderation + masochism + insanely and unsustainable high standards, and I know from experience and deep in my regretful but unstoppable heart that this can only end with a hard crash of some kind or other. When and how I don�t know. In the meantime, I guess, you can find me on the cardio machines, trying to break my per-mile average, milking it while I can.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.