dishery.diaryland.com


Head and shoulders
(2003-10-16 - 1:12 p.m.)


In the spirit of the Princeton Review, here is an analogy. Me : blank :: blank : blank-blank. So, resolved, that�s OK and I should fret less. I think part of the problem is that it hasn�t been my experience, generally, to break up with people and then slide easily into being pals. In the few instances in which pals-ness can be said to be in effect, the sliding has occurred with wrenching awkwardness over a period of many months, and in some cases I�ve decided that the awkwardness isn�t worth it and I�ve bailed out on the trying-to-be-friends before it got off the ground. I�ve described myself as a bridge-burner but this isn�t wholly accurate, it�s more like (a) a little bit a half-fudge so that I don�t have to put a fucking label on what I am instead and (b) mostly a secret test, because I�m looking for someone to notice that what I say is not congruent with what I do and to call me on it, because that is the person who is paying attention. Of course I have had my share of apocalyptic and/or soap-operatic bustups, but I�ve got the other kind too and I don�t talk about them as much simply because they�re not as good stories. Everyone likes a good story, a good fire, everyone likes a potent metaphor. Also I am a dramatist myself, and I tend to pour a lot of myself into whatever association is ongoing so naturally I am going to be depleted when the association ends. Steve said something a few nights ago about ladies he�s dated where he felt compelled to let them know a few months into it that he wanted to break up with them and would eventually do so. He asked hadn�t I ever done that and I said I had, but how can I put this delicately the dudes onto whom I�ve slapped due dates have never been those I would have said I was dating � I think we were talking about different things. I sign up for the duration, I go all in, it only makes sense that I should sometimes seem the keloid kid.

Also the part about how I still feel, self-diagnostically not self-pityingly, like where I used to hold hopefulness got burned down and salted, so now with respect to the category of things that you might believe I�m hoping for I feel distant, dull, deterministic, passive, absent � yet (dangerously?), strangely transcended by all that and its illicit religious buzz. And if it's not mine, you see � anyway this is what Calculator Brain sees � then it must belong to someone else. So.

I have been busy the past few days kicking my ass on the cardio and weight machines at Steve�s-and-probably-soon-to-be-my gym. It hurts my shoulders to type and I have a few errands to run downtown, so I will be brief. Also I am using this chunk of time, the same one during which some clothes are in the dryer downstairs, to psych myself up for venturing outside; cold and wind and pissing rain have arrived in Seattle right on mid-October schedule and with the suddenness that like a chump I always let myself forget, and since one of the major planks of my new Fight Fat platform involves walking whenever time-and-distance reasonable, I don�t have any excuse to drive. I curse my errands but I know what I must do. The gym, I should clarify, is a YMCA and I believe the ghetto-est Y in all of Seattle. There�s no attitude, no pick-up scene, and no amenities except, weirdly, motion-activated paper-towel dispensers all around the weight room. There is a sign posted above the fountain thanking me for please not spitting in it. Afternoons it�s mostly senior citizens, elderly ladies who are on guard against diabetes chatting as they walk on the treadmills, a few stay-at-home mothers in designer yoga gear trickling up from Madison Park, and a benign gang of frat-boy-stoner types who I imagine are weight-training in advance of grooving shirtlessly at next summer�s Dave Matthews tour dates. The kid at the front desk let me in free one day and then the next day I got a five-visit pass and if I join up in October, I get half off the sign-up fee. The gym is 1.8 miles from the bacon shack, so once I�m acclimated to the cold and wind and rain and they do not seem such a psychic onslaught, I can run there and back. There are yoga and Pilates classes and stuff free to members. There is a pool. Calculator Brain knows that I should not, one should not, take the good old unemployment thing personally � I�m doing all I can, the market sucks, I�ve made myself a promise not to take the first dumb secretarial etc. and therefore should not berate myself for being a chick of my word � and it also knows that I�m not going to starve, that I should be able to divorce myself from that whole category of worrying. But it is hard. I mean, I *want* to work, I am daily having to talk myself out of calling up temp agencies that are a cut below the ones I�m used to working with and seeing if maybe my Thanksgiving plans are not such a big deal to those who would hire manual laborers. (And that�s something I should be talking myself out of, right? Tell me if you think I�m wrong. I am stronger than I look.) So what I am trying to do is make myself think of the self-ass-kicking as a luxury. My shoulders hurt but I did that to myself, nothing hurts my shoulders but me.

This entry suddenly seems to be the work of a very screwed-up person. Hmm. I should go fold some shirts and come back tomorrow.

I don�t even own an umbrella.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.