dishery.diaryland.com


The current issue
(2003-10-06 - 7:43 p.m.)


A short one, because in a bit I am leaving to go pick up Mr. Man at the bus stop, we are going downtown for a drink and a movie.

Every time I�ve had some kind of body modification dealie done � and if you need a visual, I urge you to dwell on the Schwartzy bear tattoo on my right bicep; I thank you in advance for your consideration � for a few days afterwards I can�t look at it, like in the shower or when I�m getting dressed. It grosses me out what I�ve done to myself and I am sick and sad at the same time, I see my bruised or violated self to which I am the one who did the violence and for a wild moment I could puke or burst out crying or maybe both. Sometimes there is actual blood. I seem, to myself, so vulnerable and yet so mean. I was thinking about this today because I was trying to pin down the lurching feeling I get whenever I get linked to by some internet luminary, and I realized that it�s pretty much the same thing as new-tattoo-sick-in-the-shower. Don�t get me wrong, my ego does respond to that kind of stimulus, and especially here in the land that critical thinking forgot, I jump on any excuse to reassure myself that I�m all right. (In "Lost In Translation," I loved Scarlett Johansson�s reading of the line "John thinks I�m so snotty.") But I also feel like I�m being pulled into a place where I don�t belong � and I�m the one who made myself pull-able � because I can�t compete with anything that the luminaries come up with, I�m not even in the same game, and through my brief appearance in their firmament I have only called attention to my ineptitudes and the fact that even if I�ve written one thing that may be linkworthy then this throws into greater relief the fact that on average I suck.

I�m sick and I�m sad. Mondays are especially bad. I want a routine so badly, I want a � yes � coherent structure to my life. I had a phone screen today for a six-month contract doing internal business writing and intranet management for a very stable local company, which you�d think would be a slam dunk, right? and then at the end of it the HR rep apologized and told me frankly that it sounded like I was overqualified, the other candidates did not have nearly as much experience. That is an novel way to select whom to bring in for interviews, I mean according to the lowest common denominator. The publishing people haven�t called back yet after my loop interview last Tuesday, and like the doctors on TV over a dead body I am officially calling it: 7:36 pm on Monday October 6, I did not get the job. And this is just another something I�ve done to myself, I�m the one who got myself so overqualified.

"Last week�s issue." I will never catch up. The phrase made my Secret Heart bleed and I wished I could have looked away. I feel like last-week�s-issue is the story of my fucking life. Is it that to which I must consign myself, here in Seattle where the mail and so many other things are slow, or what I already am?



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.