dishery.diaryland.com


Gasket
(2003-06-06 - 11:57 a.m.)


It really is unusually hot for early June and time spent on a boat is generally time counted towards pleasant leisure when one is contemplating one�s life on one�s deathbed.

� Steve, in e-mail to me this morning

I am amused that he thought I�d need convincing, that the note had two paragraphs in it and that this was its conclusion. I wrote back: You had me at "go boating." So tonight Steve�s skipping soccer and I may skip laundry in favor of hanging out on a watercraft with the married Eastsiders from dinner several weeks ago and the skipper, a guy named Joe. Joe, Justin Timberlake, Stalin, whatever � as long as you are inviting me out on your boat there is an extent to which I don�t give a rat�s ass who you are. Go boating? Yes I will! This morning I got in late because I had to drop my car off at what is unfortunately its home away from home, C.L. Auto. Pharmaceutical lunch and then I have to leave early to catch a 75 to a 36 back to C.L. to put another couple hundred on the Mastercard (argh), so as this will not be a day with many hours in which my ass is in my chair in front of my computer, I must keep this entry short or I will accomplish nothing at all. The licensing board, for instance, continues to bay hungrily outside my window.

Car in shop: head gasket. Something about a leak or a crack? I love C.L. because they�re cheap, they�re fast, they�re not sleazy, they have a tank of koi, and they�re in the �hood so I am supporting local business, but sometimes the language barrier is a real problem. At the counter they keep laminated, labeled diagrams of engines and electrical systems so if they�re explaining something and failing to make themselves understood there is the option of pointing, or spelling out THERMOSTAT on a memo pad. Over the phone it�s more difficult, and as near as I can figure out the head gasket is in smalltime trouble, and replacing it would cost over a grand but there is a less invasive option that involves putting sealant into something and hoping the sealant fills the leak (or crack) � about one-quarter the price. If the sealant doesn�t take, then what I spend on the attempt they would deduct from the cost of replacing the gasket, so why not. I�m going to Portland tomorrow, though, and Kim from C.L. said he�d have to do the sealant thing and drive it around a bit before giving the 400-mile round trip his imprimatur � Kim did not use the word "imprimatur" � so I may have to borrow Steve�s car, and if mine is not cleared to drive 400 miles in one day then I am going to be afraid to drive it at all, so in my mind and on my budget I have already braced myself for the big bite. Fuck fuck fuck. If I�d thought about this at all when Kim called with the bad report, I would have told him to go ahead and do it, but I was not thinking; he had me at "250." Also, I need new front tires because one of them has a bubble on it.

At least I get to go on a boat tonight.

Mrs. Roboto is right, I am not going to like "The Lovely Bones," on the schedule for July�s Book Club. But as long as I can get it from the library so I don�t have to pay money not to like it � like I did with Sebold�s husband�s awful book, the worst piece of crap I�ve read in a year and an embarrassment to UC Irvine � I will read the thing, what�s three or four hours out of my rich full wonderful life and besides, everyone else is on board and I am not a consensus-wrecker. Some people are going to ask me, encouragingly, why I am so sure I�m not going to like it, maybe I am in for a great surprise. That�s their right, and the ways in which I reach these kinds of decisions, I have learned in my time here, are not SOP in Seattle. It�s just that in all the albeit favorable reviews I have seen of the Bones and all the articles about it, I haven�t read a single thing that makes me remotely interested, and since there is a massive backlog of books I�d like to read for which my interest has been piqued in three or four or twelve different ways, I perform a simple cost-benefit analysis and make a bet that the Sebold doesn�t have enough to offer me. Also, Vanessa hated it and advised me last week not to waste my time, and she and I usually have very similar taste in novels; I am still grateful to her for hooking me up with "Jernigan." Also, from the interviews I�ve read with her I have not come away with a favorable impression of Sebold herself, she doesn�t seem like someone I�d like and although I know it�s not PC to say this about a survivor of sexual assault and a brave former drug addict, I�m not sure I respect her as a writer. Also, not to put too fine a point on it, as a rule I do not care to read novels that have sexual assault as a theme. Also, none of the foregoing means that I don�t like you if you like Alice, and I hope that you can understand that and that we can still be friends. Hi, Book Club ladies new and returning. I am not going to like the Sebold but I do like you. Thank you very much for coming over and bringing all that tasty food, and I hope maybe we can do stuff together even outside the BC circuit. Are you busy next Wednesday night? Let me know, I�m planning something.

This morning at Steve�s I used, for the first time, the new hair dryer my sister sent, one of these ionic dealies that are supposed to make your hair extra shiny and smooth and I am thinking that there seems to be something to this, and as I was taking it out of the box, some cds fell out that I hadn�t realized she put in there. One of them is "The Best Bootlegs in the World Ever." Oh *hell* yes. In a perfect world I will listen to it as I cruise south on I-5 tomorrow morning in a skimpy top, sunroof open and leak (crack?) sealed, but even if I have to take the stereo-impaired and sunroofless Tercel, maybe I can copy it to a cassette tonight.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.