dishery.diaryland.com


Dear Steve, Oh my GOD
(2003-03-04 - 2:32 p.m.)


That meeting I had about the [...] web site, the one that Dr. Blahblah had told me he wanted me to design and build, etc?

Here's what it turns out they really want me for: typing. Mail merges. Scheduling interviews so other people, not me, can talk to doctors and get articles written. Keeping meeting minutes. Something called "assist with download." Formatting documents in between one person writing them and another person coding them. And I got to hear about all this from people who didn't know the term "metric" as in "survey metric" when I asked about it.

I am sure I have been this humiliated before, but it has been a while.

I am considering telling them to take their job and shove it. I mean, besides the health insurance, pretty much the whole reason I was willing to stay here and be a drone was the promise � and, yeah, it was a promise � that as soon as the [web site] stuff started coming down the pike, it would get (a) more interesting, (b) more technical, and (c) more remunerative, with (d) "opportunities for advancement," not that advancement is what I'm interested in so much as being in a position that is explicitly not a dead-end job. Now it looks like none of those things are the case. On the proposal for [project] staffing, all the responsibilities that were held out to me are listed under the job description of the person I'd be reporting to. Health insurance is cool but so is my dignity, and this is a real insult and I'm torn as to what I should do. Would Epictetus stay and suck it up, with private dignity unalloyed, only until he knew he had a better job elsewhere, and then walk away with the same amount of dignity? Or would he call the temp agency up and tell them Baby's back in town, and in the meantime start sending out resumes by the dozen?

What do you think?

I just feel so screwed over. And like such an idiot that I didn't consider this outcome, which makes things even worse.

[...]



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.