dishery.diaryland.com


Beleagueree
(2002-09-16 - 3:24 p.m.)


�Well, okay. But what are you doing with a woman you can�t speak openly with?�

�Openness presumes you�re standing on common ground. Whether or not you�re standing on common ground � that�s not something you talk about, that�s something you decide.�

� Bernhard Schlink, in �The Circumcision�

This morning I got hit on for the third time in four days, this time by a fuzzy-haired, toothpaste-eschewing guy in line at Vivace. Friday night while I was at the Comet with Vanessa and Popeye, a sixtyish guy who was sporting the Hemingway look (we later named him Captain Jack) ran a thumbnail down my back while I was waiting at the bar, and as I turned to face him, immediately ready to take a swing, he announced in an unexpected tone of friendly confidence, �You should come home with me.� Then Saturday morning at the laundromat, a homeless guy touched my underwear � the ones that were lying on the folding table, you perv � and asked me if I might care to have some wine with him. I had thought that the lack of washer and dryer in the new house was something I could get around, a minor inconvenience in exchange for such a huge yard and kitchen, an office, etc., but now I am not so sure.

I was at Vivace this morning because I had to go to my bank. Yesterday I managed to lose the debit card I only just replaced from losing my wallet several weeks ago, and since I�ve just moved, �for security� said the customer service operator, I had to cancel it and request a new one live and in person. (Also I had to go to the bank because I was informed over the weekend that the miracle worker CPA whom I thought had bailed my ass out a few months ago actually employed some rogue accounting upon which the IRS looks askance. So guess who owes a whole lot more money? That�s me. But I don�t want to get all into that here, or the money thing much if at all except in the abstract, and that is why I am consigning this news flash to the interparenthetical domain.) Both the missing wallet and the missing debit card make no rational sense at all, I mean their disappearance doesn�t; in the first case I was keeping a close eye on my wallet all night because, isn�t this funny, I went to the Uptown last night and the last time I had, last year, I�d lost it, and in the second because I distinctly remember sliding the debit card into my purse after paying for brunch and then I all did was get into a car and go back to my house. In neither case can I conceive of what might have happened. Yet I cannot argue with the reality of the missing articles. So this morning I called my sister at work first thing, and I told her that there was a curse on me and that she had to procure a new wallet for me that would be free of my bad juju, and she knew exactly what I meant � before I even explained! � and promises to get one in the mail post haste. I hope that it will be one small new beginning for me, the end of losing that category of things.

Sometimes it�s hard not to think of the last year or so, and when I get in a mood ever since I came back to Seattle in September of �99, as one long narrative of losing things, and I don�t mean in that mind-expanding Buddhist way, either. After 2002s that have been characterized by various kinds of unrest and turmoil though not without their awfully nice parts, Vanessa and I have vowed to make our respective 2003s so excellent as to beat the band. We�re getting tough, we�re in training, we�re making preparations now so that as the date looms we will be ready to ride the opposite of the shitty wave. In a similar vein, is it possible to resolve to be done with the period of losing and instead to usher in a period of getting, receiving, having? I go so back and forth on the Dale Carnegie shit, Silva mind control, parking-space karma, Nathaniel Branden, make-your-own-luck, Within six months I *will* have a full-time etc. � you know, all that stuff. On the one hand, it can amount to a kind of blaming the victim where you are both the toughloving castigator and the traumatized beleagueree: like, my car was stolen even though I had the Club on it. I got the worst financial advice I could have had, just before the market got worse than even the best adviser could have imagined. Do those things make me a failure at creating my own luck? But on the other hand, I know I have a tendency to let my psychological life go to hell a little at a time � I get impatient, there�s always some *thing* it seems I�d rather be doing than, say, meditating, or even the unsquishy version of same, Taking A Long Hard Look At fill in the blank � until before I know it I�m either catatonic or weeping insensibly, all alone because I�ve withdrawn from my friends out of fear and shame that I have disappointed them, in a thousand pieces on the floor that it�s going to take a long long time to reassemble. So another thing I want to try to do, and feel free to chime in �Well, it is about damn time� is find the middle course, the one that is between the cloying self-congratulation of that �Self-Nurture� book I referred to in the Monitor a few months ago and the needless heedless self-abnegation of the �Self-Torture� joke with which I felt obliged to riposte.

(Made up �beleagueree.� You like? Also, my first impulse was to write �... full-time blah blah blah� but then I thought that might seem eye-rolling or overly hospitable to a bad attitude. Also with �some *thing*� note again prejudice in favor of productivity and checklistism but at least awareness of it, which is progress, right?)

Rebecca and I were talking about this on Saturday night, on the way to and then at the Lawnmowers show at the Sunset. There�s a book called �Simple Abundance� that a small handful of people in the last few years have told me that I need to read, and despite the automatic sneer that self-helpage induces, I am proudly a democrat so I do not feel it is my place to ignore the results of a popular vote. And Rebecca knows the book, so she was telling me about it. And how do I say this nicely? It kind of made me want to be a fascist. First of all, it�s not a book but a program � every day you have to make a list of five things you are grateful for, and you have to keep a thing called a Wish Book, a collage of, I don�t know, images and words and whatever that you come across that for whatever reason has some kind of emotional resonance for you, like if you had a shrink and it was Martha Stewart, and, Rebecca says, the book�s author even admonishes readers, If you have not been faithfully compiling your gratitude lists and keeping your Wish Book, then I can�t do anything to help you. More blame. So no thanks. Plus I�m just leery of the cultcultcult aspect of stuff like that, even the Oprah magazine makes me antsy until I can go listen to some Iggy or something to clear my head. But what to do instead? By looking for some more palatable option, am I not guilty of staying in my comfortable rut? Should I bite the bullet and sacrificially give myself over to the will of the people? Would the humiliation of participating in such a sissified project in fact have such a bracing effect, like saltwater in my nose and mouth, that I�d be forced to fight my way to the surface and swim hard for shore? I don�t know. But I have to do something. It is about damn time.

Lawnmowers were great though the fratty, Hootie-looking crowd weirded me out. Opening bands were a mixed bag. Rebecca also seconded a motion put forth by Vanessa last week at the Mecca, which is that I need to work on my chitchat. Note please that both of these ladies mean the remark only as constructive criticism. Chitchat, small talk, bar banter � it�s not that I can�t do it, it�s that it isn�t reliably there for me, it can get scared away by whatever I�m beating myself up over at any given moment, and then while I�m preoccupied with beating myself up I don�t even notice that I�m not doing it, I lose the ability to take the conversation�s temperature, to taste for seasoning and adjust accordingly. (One of these days I am going to regret the level of candor that I have maybe self-torturingly brought to this new URL, I am going to wish I had never forthcame to this place. Too late now though, isn�t it.) And my friends know that I�m like this, though perhaps they do not understand that in the absence of carefree yuks there is necessarily some degree of lacerating going on, and I think maybe in assuming that they would just accept it I have demanded too much of them. Um um um and yeah. This turns out to be too hard for me to write about just now, I�ve gone all lump-in-throaty and after I�ve been doing so well on the no tears in the office tip, so I�m going to table the subject for the time being. But don�t think for a minute that I�m not thinking about it, and trying to work on it. Another thing that I have had occasion to say many times in the past few weeks is It is hard but I am trying. I have meant this in one particular way but maybe I should take some deep breaths, swallow the lump and blink my eyes, and buckle down to meaning it in more.

But then: when does doing something painful for one�s own good cross the line into self-torture? Maybe my fundamental problem is that I have never been very good at telling the difference.

But then: by putting forth that hypothesis, am I merely making a clever excuse that allows me to avoid doing the hard work? Don�t know, don�t know.

Oh, and by the way, I do not live in Georgetown. I have now been to Georgetown, and it is a wholly separate entity from my neighborhood, demarcated, among other things, by an overpass. I think that the accurate report would be that I live on the very south part of Beacon Hill. Though in a way I wish that I could say I live in Georgetown, because the people who make smug jokes about my neighborhood as if it�s the crack district or as if it�s in the boonies are really starting to piss me off.

This entry is all over the place not in a good way, so I am going to post it now before I get too self conscious about that. Even though I�m still ambivalent about having done so, now that I�ve brought the candor here I want to flex it, steeling myself if necessary through the unaccustomed exertion, and by doing so become unafraid to keep on flexing because I�ll already know I can, and have, and that will be one less thing to be afraid of. My list of things that I want to write about is becoming longer and longer, a bigger and bigger joke, because I never get around to addressing any of them. So I am going to post the entry before that stops being funny and turns into one more thing to slap myself with.

(Crap, too late.)



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.