dishery.diaryland.com


Not the opposite of being forthcoming
(2002-09-11 - 10:37 a.m.)


I kind of wrote a movie review while drunk last night. I came home from the theater all fired up to write it, fired-upness also being a subset of how happy I am to be writing again, and I grabbed a beer out of the refrigerator more than anything as a salute to myself and the vast future possible that begins, and begins to become, with me making up words. Then the review was slower going than I had thought it would be and I went upstairs for beer no. 2, in the middle of which I had one of those moments where all of a sudden one is full-on sloshed without ever having been buzzed, and then I had another moment where I remembered that dinner had been Bloody Marys at the Mecca. But I was safe at home and very much on the equable and self-forgiving end of the emotional whipsaw that�s been flaying me recently, and I had an equable and self-forgiving thought that had something to do with locking the barn after the horses had gone (is that how the saying goes?), and the review was still not done, so I made myself feel better about that by finishing at least one thing I was working on and tramping back up the stairs for beer no. 3. So I don�t know if I want to check and see if the review is up yet, because if it�s lousy I�ll be embarrassed and if it�s good I�ll feel like boozing helps my writing, and when, ages ago, I got that idea about speed, it was a bad scene for a while there. The unfortunate part is that two people know I was going to do this particular review, and one of them is Todd, and I would rather not have him thinking that my writing is lousy.

Oh wait, this is hilarious, I am actually laughing out loud. I totally forgot that as Todd has read every single word I ever wrote in the Monitor, his opinion in that regard is probably pretty well formed. I can�t believe I forgot about that, especially since I was thinking about it in the car on the way in today. I am snickering at myself.

Anyway. So, yeah, I�m not going to give myself the you-dumb-lush lecture, because I know what I have to say, and since the nights a few weeks ago of half a fifth in half the bed, I have made a remarkable turnaround. And it�s good to have ascertained that I�m capable of getting a review together the same night I see the movie. And now I have just received word that the site I�m writing for is still deciding whether or not to publish today, some cockeyed 9-11 tribute, so if I wanted to I could maybe even get my review back and read it over sober-like and make revisions. But what would I say, �Um, I was drunk when I wrote that and I think it might suck but I�m not sure?� Yes, that is the way to impress the people who have taken a big chance on me. I think I have to forget all about it and, tiny lecture coming up, Don�t Let It Happen Again.

Administrative notes:

  1. The previous paragraph contains what will be this entry�s only reference to what day it is.
  2. I don�t think the name of the movie-review site is relevant, and I don�t know why but it would make me uncomfortable if I knew that people who had come to know the Diary Me, who knew me only in that way I mean, were also reading the Critic Me; it would feel like a malignancy somehow. (In a cheery voice: No offense, of course!) Though, reading over what I�ve just written, it seems antithetical to one of the main things I want to accomplish with the Dishery, which in a nutshell is *not* to retreat into that kind of comfortable compartmentalization, not to hide.
  3. Whoa there with the �hide�: See also above, Todd has read every single word I ever wrote in the Monitor; I think that my outwardly rueful characterization of Monitor Me in the language of secrecy is false self-disparagement, a way to suggest to those who hear or read it that I acknowledge having kept a private diary as something to be ashamed of, as if writing in the Monitor was the opposite of being forthcoming, an ugly habit from which I had to be liberated for my own psychological health. When I do that, I am essentially lying, and therefore I must stop. I told Vanessa last night that it�s a relief to have a public diary that I won�t have to fret about real-life acquaintances finding, and this is true, but it is also me trying to find a bright spot in an event that honestly crushed me and sometimes still does when I think about what I�ve lost, what was taken from me. OK, what Todd took. I try not to think about that part of it, because what�s done is done and human beings owe each other forgiveness, and this paragraph wasn�t even intended as a meditation on subject-betrayal-object, all I meant to to do was call bullshit on myself for what I wrote in the previous one. And now I have done that, so let�s move on.
  4. I think this makes three entries so far in which �bullshit� appears. Sorry about that. And, yes, I felt like an idiot for that twee Diary Me, Critic Me, Monitor Me business, but that was the only way I saw to explain what I meant without recourse to ridicuously tortured syntax.
  5. The things I have been calling operative paradigms, the concepts that the Dishery reveals my mind to keep tripping over? I am not sure after all that that�s the term I want to be using, because after writing yesterday�s entry I realized that another one of them is vacations, and I don�t think I can really call the concept of a vacation a paradigm.
  6. Back to the moview reviews, since I hijacked myself with what it led me to: So I�ll think about the issue of their URL, reminding myself that it may be moot and I may be a pompous ass to think that anyone is even curious about them, and maybe I�ll change my mind later. In the meantime, since I don�t want to seem a cocktease, I will try to keep the noise level on that track to a minimum.
And since I do want to post here more regularly and I have other things and other writing I need to get to today, I�m calling this an entry � even though I didn�t address any of the topics I�d planned to, ha � and I am saying au revoir. Also, those administrative notes didn�t start out as a list. (Why is it important to me that you know that?)

P.S. Later, after posting entry and looking at page to make sure I didn't screw up the formatting: For �forgot� in the second paragraph, read �let myself forget�? Yes, I think so. But I also think that is what I *should* be doing. It is time to be moving forward, it is time with respect to my personal projects and my writing to shut up and drive.



previous entry - next up

All content on this page and at dishery.diaryland.com is copyright 2002-2005 by the person who wrote it. Thanks in advance for not being an asshole.

Envy me worship meVoyeurism on tapI'll make you cake if you doIt's free and hella cool, how can you not?
Marriage is love.